Town Council Celebrates Weaverville Fire Department's 100th Anniversary


WHEREAS, the Town of Weaverville wishes to acknowledge the dedication and service to the community by the Weaverville Fire Department on its 100th Anniversary; and

WHEREAS, the Weaverville Fire Department serves the 3,800 residents of the Town of Weaverville and over 20,000 residents of the North Buncombe Fire District; and

WHEREAS, in, 1916, the Weaverville Fire Department was officially recognized as a charted fire department through the State of North Carolina Insurance Department with 13 members and led by first Fire Chief Jim E. Murdock and the West and Penley families as multi-generational in their leadership within the department; and

WHEREAS, Weaverville Fire Department has had 13 fire chiefs over its 100 years, with Fire Chief Ted Williams fulfilling the office currently; and

WHEREAS, the Weaverville Fire Department has maintained an Insurance Service Office (ISO) rating of 4 inside Town limits and a rating of 5 in the North Buncombe Fire District; and

WHEREAS, today the Weaverville Fire Department now resides at its station at 3 Monticello Road, Weaverville, North Carolina with a fleet of two engines, two tankers, two brush trucks, one aerial ladder, one heavy rescue, one utility task vehicle (UTV) and one command vehicle and provides both fire protection and emergency medical services in conjunction with Buncombe County Emergency Medical Services; and

WHEREAS, the Weaverville Fire Department has entered into mutual aid agreements with Buncombe County and the Reems Creek Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, the Weaverville Fire Department currently handles approximately 1,800 calls per year; and
AND NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that Town Council for the Town of Weaverville, North Carolina, do hereby proclaim the year 2016 as the

Official 100th Anniversary of the Weaverville Fire Department

Adopted the 21st day of November 2016


Return to News