Tag: schedule

Waste Collection Schedule

The Sanitation Division of the Public Works Department collects garbage, including household trash and yard waste, once per week per residence. Solid waste collection is available only for waste generated within the Town limits. The Town is divided into 3 collection areas. Collection begins on Monday and ends on Wednesday. Call the Public Works Department at (828) 645-0606 with your street address to determine your schedule. In order to be collected, the garbage must be curbside by 8:00 a.m. on your collection day. Collection may be affected due to inclement weather so please call Public Works at (828) 645-0606 to verify schedule or if you have questions. You may also visit the Public Works Frequently Asked Questions page for additional information.

In the event that your trash collection day falls on a holiday, trash will be collected on the following Thursday unless Thursday is also a holiday, in which case trash will be collected on the following Friday. Please see the following holiday waste collection schedule:

New Years Day:  Monday, January 1, 2018 route will be collected Thrusday, January 4, 2018.

Martin Luther King Day:  Monday, January 15, 2018 route will be collected on Thursday, January 18, 2018.

Memorial Day:  Monday, May 28, 2018  route will be collected on Thursday, May 31, 2018.

Independence Day:  Wednesday, July, 2018 route will be collected on Thursday, July 5, 2018.

Labor Day – Monday, September 3, 2018 route will be collected on Thursday, September 6, 2018.

Christmas – Monday, December 24, 2018 route will be collected on Thursday, December 27, 2018;  Tuesday, December 25, 2018 route will be collected on Friday, December 28, 2018